Posted by: jawilde | May 20, 2007

Weekend Before CSSF: Saturday, May 19, 2007

This morning, I realized that I needed to take more pictures of the robot before I could deliver it to the person who was going to drive the robot to Los Angeles. I would show these pictures to the judges if the robot did not arrive for some reason.

Unfortunately, as I talked about in the last post, I already packed the robot and sealed it inside a container. The only solution was to undo all of the sealing that I did and then remove the robot to take photos. I then grabbed my camera/camcorder hybrid and went onto a trail near my house to take photos.

After shooting 20-30 photos, I realized that I forgot to bring the SD card for my camera. This meant that I was only able to take still photos; I didn’t have enough memory to take videos of the robot.

When I finished taking photos, I went back to my house and repacked the robot; I sealed the box with tape and made sure that the identification labels were still intact. I then had a short lunch and delivered my board and the robot to the person who is driving my robot to Los Angeles. Luckily, I had already attached name labels to the robot; this meant that I just had to drop of the robot. I did not have to make up and attach labels to my display board or my shipping container.

In the evening, I created a viewer of the pictures of the robot. This viewer showed a 360-degree view of the robot. I loaded this viewer onto a USB flash drive so that I can virtually show the robot to the judges. In addition to the viewer, I also loaded all of my programs and installers for the required drivers onto the USB drive. With this, if the software on the laptop accidentally gets broken, I have the installer files so that I can fix them. I finished off the evening by loading the laptop with Mozilla Firefox and the latest development build of Programmer’s Notepad.


Leave a comment

Categories